Better late than never at all….

by rubadubdublog

Limes Final

I had every intention to do a quick Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year post a few days before we went away and of course that never happened. I hope your Christmases and New Years were everything you wanted them to be!

We are so lucky to have many great cooks amongst our friends and family. So our holiday involved lots of incredible food made with lots of love. Dario even used these beautiful miniature plums which line the streets around here to make a plum pie à la the Silver Spoon. Amazing!

Plum Pie Final

Watermelon Final

So now here we are, holidays over and wandering blissfully into a new year. Here’s to a safe, fun filled and enriching 2013. And  for the first post of this year I’m going to do exactly what I said I would never do and give you a recipe with corn in it. I’m told it was delicious…

This recipe comes from my gorgeous friend Jo who I am most grateful to for letting me post her recipe.

Jo’s Corn Salsa

Serves 3-4 as a side dish

3 tbsp coriander, finely chopped

2 corn cobs, husks on

1 lime, juiced

1 large fresh chilli (optional)

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Place whole corn cobs on a baking tray and cook for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.  Combine coriander, salt, chilli and lime juice in a medium sized bowl. When the corn is pretty much cool, remove the husks, silk and ends of each cob. Hold each cob on its end and slice downwards to remove the kernels. Mix the kernels with the rest of the ingredients and adjust lime juice and salt to taste.

Corn Salsa Final

Presents Final

Goma Final

Plums and Limes Final

As a post-script, apologies for such a short post which is photo-heavy – such is the nature of being around so much beautiful food and away from your own kitchen.

To give you a flavour of what to expect from me in 2013, I’m hoping each post will continue to reflect how I feel about photography and vegetarian food as well as raising kids and yourself in an enjoyably healthy way. And mostly I hope it will provide something meaningful to you too! If you have any requests for recipes or ideas for the blog please pass them on!

