Raffi’s Green Day

by rubadubdublog

Smoothie ingredients1

So, it’s finally happened. The child that once ate everything has finally turned. I knew it was coming but somewhere deep inside I was holding out hope that she was going to be this unquestioning, obey-everything type of child who would just sit and eat all of the crazy things I placed in front of her. I think it’s probably called insanity on my part…and growing up on her part.

So I’m having to be creative. At this stage this means mixing things that she does like with things that she likes less in order to encourage her to eat them. So in yesterday’s case that meant blending up the steamed veges that she hadn’t eaten for lunch into a green smoothie because I know she will always drink one of those. While I’ve never liked the idea of ‘hiding’ veges in kids’ meals (I think it’s important that they grow up knowing and liking the different tastes that veges have to offer), I have to remember that even adults have different tastes (hence the reason why I will never have any corn in any recipe on this blog. Ever.) and so I have forced myself to have the attitude that if I can provide her with healthy food prepared in a way that is more pleasing to her little tastebuds, then I will.

So to get to the point of today’s post – whenever I am worried about whether she has had enough greens (like I was this week) I give her (and me) a Green Day.

Here is this week’s Green Day lunch for both of us – eventually I would like to do a whole day’s worth of green meals for parent/s and baby however with the lead up to Christmas being so busy this one meal will have to do for now. In the meantime, if you are looking for other great green meals you could try this with some pasta or stuffed in mushrooms, or maybe even this.

Quinoa with Silverbeet, Coconut and Apple

Quinoa, Mixed Greens, Daikon and Apple

Serves 4

1 1/2 cups coconut milk

1/2 cup quinoa

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup daikon, grated

1 granny smith apple, grated

1-2 cups mixed leafy greens eg. silverbeet, english spinach, kale, chard, beetroot leaves etc

1/2 zucchini, grated

a few squeezes of lemon juice

feta cheese (optional)

olives (optional)

Rinse the quinoa and place in a saucepan with the coconut milk (or half coconut milk, half vegetable stock or milk if you prefer the taste). Bring to the boil then reduce to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes stirring regularly. Once the quinoa has developed little tails on it, remove from the heat and put in a bowl to the side. In the same pan heat the olive oil with a pinch of sea salt and gently fry the greens, daikon and zucchini until just soft. Remove from heat and stir into the quinoa. Fold through the feta and olives. Serve with a few squeezes of lemon juice and grated apple on top to you and your little one and put the leftovers in the freezer for another few meals!

Bunny

Green Smoothie

Serves 2

There are many fantastic green smoothie recipes out there – mine is quite simple – however some of these are also really worth checking out. Sarah Britton’s Mojito smoothie, Golubka’s Glass of Emerald (and while you’re there check out how beautiful the photography is on this site) and Whole Promise’s green smoothie are all wonderful options.

2 cups kale/silverbeet/english spinach

3/4 cup filtered water

a few ice cubes

1 orange peeled and chopped

1 kiwifruit peeled and chopped

1/2 lemon, juiced

1 tsp super greens powder

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth. Add more water if you like a thinner consistency. Serve immediately.

Green Smoothie 1

Green Smoothie 2

