Learning to have fruit for dessert

by rubadubdublog

As far as I am concerned a dessert isn’t dessert if it doesn’t involve chocolate or chocolate related ingredients. So to be honest, I really wasn’t sure why I decided to do this as my first dessert post.

It definitely didn’t come from a desire to be healthy even though it’s a pretty decent option if you are trying to be that way. And it wasn’t because I was trying not to eat chocolate – I wouldn’t be so silly. If I’m going to be honest, it was probably for no other reason than I was positive blackberries and peaches would look really beautiful together (plus I had been walking through the farmer’s markets on the weekend and the new season peaches practically begged me to buy them). I initially felt guilty that I was making recipe choices based on how they would photograph rather than what they tasted like – until I made it. I realised that in many cases there is a genuine connection between the physical beauty of food and how it tastes (no wonder photography and food go hand in hand). This dessert is simple, elegant, adaptable and showcases just how amazing fruit can look (oh and taste).

And most importantly, after making and eating this dessert I am now considering that maybe, just maybe I could make an exception to the ‘chocolate only for dessert’ rule once in a while. Maybe.

Also, I found out that this is incredibly delightful served cold with greek style natural yoghurt for breakfast the following morning. Another plus!

Grilled Blackberries and Peaches with Vanilla Marscapone and Almond Granola

Serves 4-5

Inspired by a Jamie Oliver strawberry version

Grilled fruit

6 ripe peaches or nectarines (or another softish, seasonal fruit), quartered

2 cups organic blackberries

2 tbsp agave syrup

2 tbsp marsala

several slices of fresh ginger, peeled

marscapone cheese(check ingredients if you want gluten free)

seeds from half a vanilla pod

Heat oven grill on high. Gently combine blackberries and peaches in a bowl with the agave syrup, marsala and ginger. Lay fruit in a shallow baking dish and grill until fruit is soft, approximately 4-5 minutes.

Serve with marscapone cheese whipped with the seeds from half a vanilla pod.

I made the almond granola quickly as I was running out of time. If I had more time I would have preferred to make this from Heidi Swanson’s amazing recipe collection. How good does it look!?

Almond granola

1/2 cup almonds

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup rolled oats (can remove if you want this gluten free)

2 tbsp agave syrup

1 tbsp raw honey

Roughly chop or process the nuts and seeds and place in a medium bowl. Mix with the honey and agave syrup and bake on a tray in the oven until golden, approximately 10 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius. (Watch it as it will burn)

 

