Chia Seed Chocolate Cake from the Gluten Free Grain Free Co.

by rubadubdublog

From Australia’s beautiful Sunshine Coast, let me introduce you to the Gluten Free Grain Free Co.

I was given Tania’s cookbook a few months ago and have enjoyed many of her recipes, especially this one. This cake is rich, full of flavour and beautifully decadent without being burdened by processed sugar or gluten.

One of the reasons that this recipe sticks out for me is that I have recently discovered the absolute deliciousness of raw cocao. There are competing beliefs on the relative health benefits of raw cocao in comparison to regular cocoa, nevertheless, I do believe that raw cocao has a richer and more delicate flavour so I’ll continue to put it in my recipes if that’s ok. Like the more processed supermarket cocoa however, raw cocao still has caffeine in it so I won’t give it to Raffaella… just yet.

On that note, also loving coconut sugar… where has it been all my life? Thanks for the heads up on that one Rhonnie and Laurie!

As Tania says in her book, the original recipe is a great basic chocolate cake – from there the rest is up to you and your imagination. I made my own changes which I’ll include in parentheses in the ingredients list.

Please note that Tania’s version is gluten free. However with the addition of dark chocolate in my version, you will need to check the ingredients list on the chocolate packet if you want to ensure it remains that way.

Chia Seed Chocolate Cake

4 tbsp chia seeds 

1 cup of water for soaking the chia seeds (I halved both the chia seeds and the water)

1/2 cup raw cocao, sifted

125gm softened butter (I used 100gm coconut oil melted with 50gm 70% dark chocolate)

5 medium to large eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup almond meal

1 cup coconut sugar

a pinch of salt

1 tsp bicarb soda

(1/2 cup walnuts, chopped)

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a spring form cake tin with non-stick baking paper.

Soak the chia seeds in the water and leave for 15 minutes, stirring regularly.

In a heavy based saucepan, melt the coconut oil and dark chocolate together over a very low heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

In a large bowl, mix together the cocao, almond meal, sugar, salt and bicarb. Add eggs and then the coconut oil and dark chocolate mixture. Whisk well to ensure all lumps are broken up.  Add the chia seed jelly, whisk until well combined. At this point I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts.

Pour into lined cake tin and bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes or until it bounces back when pressed in the middle.

On previous occasions I have baked it for less and it has been much denser which I tend to prefer. To set it properly, you will probably need to refrigerate it for an hour or so once it has cooled if you wish to do this.

Leave in the tin for 5-10 minutes and turn out onto a wire rack to finish cooling.

When I contacted Tania about including the cake in this post, she also kindly passed on some variations:

– Add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and some raspberries and blueberries for a lovely berry chocolate cake

– Instead of using eggs, include 2 medium-sized mashed bananas (equivalent to 4 eggs) which will hold it nicely – cook it at a lower temperature for longer

– If you prefer a higher cake –  instead of using blanched almond meal, grind whole almonds to somewhere between meal and still with lots of texture (chunky bits).  It lightens the cake and helps to keep it higher

– A beautiful raw glaze topping is simply 4 parts sugar to 1 part cocoa – mix with enough water to make a thick or thin glaze

– Another favourite is to soak dates (for about 20 minutes) in some aromatic tea like lady grey or a good strong chai tea then blend them down into a thick paste and splodge that all over the top

And one of my own…

– For the topping, I recommend beating together your preferred portions of cream cheese, natural yoghurt, ricotta cheese and agave syrup, however as with the dark chocolate, the same recommendations apply (see above) for keeping it gluten free

