Go on, let the kid have icecream

by rubadubdublog

I have the most wonderful family. Not only are they kind, generous and loving, but they will also happily give me a ribbing when the circumstances call for it. So when Dario read out this line below from a recent email sent from his brother I thought it was most definitely time for a super healthy baby food blog post.

Knowing the type of food we eat and make for Raffaella (and ourselves), he commented (after seeing a recent photo of her eating a pea, lemon and spinach lasagne) that she had ‘the look of a child destined to have to sneak out for a cheese burger until she leaves home’. And you know what, he is 100% correct.

I know there will come a time that Raff will want things other than what we make for her. And I also know there will be many times when she eats food that I either don’t know about or I don’t want her to eat. But for the moment, as her parents, we are entirely responsible for what is put in her mouth, and until she is old enough to sneak out for a cheeseburger she will eat food that is as unprocessed, nutrient dense and locally produced as possible.

So this one’s for you Gian. May you be the one to sneak her out for her first Baskin Robbins.

Berry, Banana, Goji and Lemon Sorbet

3 very ripe bananas

1 1/2 cups organic frozen berries

2 tbsp dried goji berries

juice of 2 lemons (I prefer more lemon juice than this so adjust to taste)

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until very smooth. Distribute between containers and freeze. Take out about 30 minutes before serving if you want a nice creamy sorbet.

This is also a great opportunity to throw in some fresh english or baby spinach into the food processor if you are finding you are worrying about your child’s vegetable intake.

I also can’t recommend these Ween Green containers enough (no I am not paid to say this). Heating and freezing glass is a much safer option than plastic and they have been so durable with great portion sizes. Also, how gorgeous are the little ceramic dishes I picked up from the local handmade markets?

