Welcome

by rubadubdublog

I have decided to begin with something simple.

I have found one of the hardest things to achieve when feeding an active one year old is to make consistently healthy food for her while at the same time making sure I am eating well also. Too often I find myself either eating something rather uninspiring on the run or not eating at all – neither is sustainable.

This recipe is something I came up with this week which we could both enjoy. And we did! With a good dose of calcium, omega 3 and antioxidants, this little snack could also be spread on a cracker or rye bread if you are after a little more. Please note although I recommend you try it for yourself, the honey is optional and here in Australia it is generally not recommended for children under the age of one.

Cottage Cheese, Raspberry and Balsamic Mid-Morning Treat

Serves 1.5

1/2 cup full cream cottage cheese

1/4 cup frozen or fresh organic raspberries or strawberries

1 tsp chia seeds

balsamic vinegar to taste

1 tsp raw organic honey (optional)

Mix cottage cheese and rasperries or strawberries in a bowl until just combined. Fold in chia seeds. Add balsamic in small amounts until you achieve the desired taste. Add honey and adjust balsamic if required.

