Raw Blackberry Crumble + 90 Days of Goodness

by rubadubdublog

Raw Blackberry Crumble 1

I’ve made it to week six and I am doing it tough. What am I doing tough? I challenged myself to a 90 day post-birth healthy eating bonanza. Why am I doing it tough? Because I challenged myself to a 90 day post-birth healthy eating bonanza.

It’s not because the food has been inedible. In fact quite the opposite, the food has been amazing (see this salad, this beautiful dukkah and peach dish from My New Roots, and this super easy and quick brekkie bar (sans chocolate) to get an idea of what’s been going into my tummy). And I’ve never eaten this well and consistently for this long in my life. I’m not counting calories or focusing on fat/carb/protein ratios etc. I’m simply planning my three meals a day and prioritising fruits, vegetables, quality vego protein (such as nuts, a small amount of dairy, soy, bee pollen, hemp) and wholegrains as well as avoiding processed sugars, alcohol (ahem..sometimes) and I’d like to say coffee but that would be lying. My days are filled with fruit, nuts and seeds for breakfast, bright and super fresh salads for lunch and light, simple dinners and my body is stoked about it. The benefits seem to be outweighing the challenges at this point…my post pregnancy skin is as happy and clear as it could be, the baby weight is slowly but surely starting to go and my energy levels are high. So if this is the case why am I finding it so hard? Because committing to an eating plan and to changing habits (seriously, who doesn’t want something sweet after a meal?) is hard and takes time. Especially the habits that you’ve had for what seems like a lifetime.

But I’m doing it. And I’m talking about it. When it gets hard – people hear about it (sorry Dario). And it helps. And I’m not beating myself up when I don’t meet the expectations that I’ve made for myself (well not too much anyway). I am learning to pick myself up and make the best of the situation. And speaking of making the best of things…from hardship has come unexpected inspiration! I have recipes swimming around in my head all the time and every time I eat something new and fresh, more come along. And some time in the next…uh…decade…when I eventually get the chance to sit down and write some of it up I’ll blog it! And here’s one of them. Eat it for dessert, brekkie, snack – who cares – because it is so darn good for you and that’s what I think it’s all about.

Raw Blackberry Crumble 2

Raw Blackberry Crumble

Serves 2-3

Filling

1 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup fresh blackberries (plus a few extra for garnishing)

1 vanilla bean, seeds scraped

juice of one lime

1 peach, roughly chopped

1 tsp cinnamon

Topping

1/2 cup pecans

1 cup almonds

1 tsp cinnamon

1 dessert spoon of rapadura sugar or chopped dates

1/2 tsp salt

Place the topping ingredients in a food processor and pulse until it makes a rough crumble. Don’t over process. Put into a bowl/container and set aside. Clean out the food processor and pulse the filling ingredients to combine. I kept it quite chunky however if you like more of a puree I think it would work to process it for a bit longer. Divide the filling between bowls and top with the nut mixture. Garnish with a few extra blackberries. Serve immediately.

