Summer Rhubarb and Raspberry Brekkie Bowl

by rubadubdublog

Aurelia February 2014

I have been amazed by how much I’ve enjoyed having a newborn again. And how much I love being a second time mum. I’m amazed because I say this after having one of the toughest weeks I’ve had in a long time. After being lulled  into a nice big, fat, false sense of security by Dario having holidays, the day finally came last week when he had to go back to work. It was a long week.

I suppose then, that I am loving it more because I know how fleeting having a newborn is – and they are very precious times. And everyone says it but it’s true – in the blink of an eye (a very tired one) they are crawling and then walking then talking back to you. And because you’ve done it before you know all challenges will be overcome eventually (you just have to dig deep into those reserves of patience. Sometimes really deep) and the good bits are all around you and will only continue to get better. You can, and will survive it.

And on another note honestly, I don’t know why I ever stressed when it was just Raff and I at home. I mean ok I know exactly why I stressed and it’s because having a new baby is hands down the most terrifying thing I’ve ever done – but now that I’m faced with the absolutely petrifying reality that I have to take care of two kids on my own five days a week, I am wondering why I ever thought having one baby was even remotely difficult. The gift of hindsight.

I’ve also been astounded by how much a new baby has made me love Raff more – how can that be? I look at her differently now. How far she’s come, how simple life was with just her, how much she’s developed and become a little human being in her own right. It’s wonderful.

Toddler Time 1

Toddler Time 2

Toddler Time 3

And once we put Auri to bed for her morning nap, together Raff and I bust out some delicious breakfasts – just the two of us. Got to appreciate the small things in life when the days and weeks are tough. Like a good breakfast with a loved one.

Good luck and God bless all those new (and not so new!) mums and dads out there. Don’t I know that we need it!

Summer Rhubarb and Raspberry Bowl_

Summer Rhubarb and Raspberry Brekkie Bowl

A bunch of rhubarb (about 5-7 stalks), sliced thinly

1 cup raspberries, fresh or frozen

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 kaffir lime leaf

1 inch fresh ginger

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4-1/2 cup pomegranate juice (depending on how thick you want your sauce)

Stir the rhubarb, pomegranate juice, maple syrup, lime leaf, fresh ginger and spices over medium heat. Bring to the boil and simmer until the rhubarb is soft and the sauce has reduced to your liking. About 10-15 minutes. Add more juice if you like it thinner. Add the raspberries, stir through and cook for a minute or two and then add more maple syrup if it is too tart. Turn off the heat, cover and let sit for ten minutes then remove the lime leaf and ginger and serve slightly warm with your favourite brekkie items.

We have been using any combination of:

- Millet or buckwheat puffs

- Greek yoghurt

- Rolled Oats

- Bee Pollen and/or

- The ‘cobbler bit‘ from this amazing recipe

It’s also really really good warm on ice cream. Just a suggestion.

My next post will be an explanation and update on my self-imposed 90 day challenge. Highlights so far have been this as a regular go-to brekkie option, this salad was SO GOOD (especially the herb marinated tofu) and I am totally making this again…but hmmm maybe with a lot less mineral water and a lot more gin. Lowlights have been not being able to stick to my completely unrealistic exercise plan (what was I thinking…we have a newborn!!) and realising how bloody long 90 days actually is.

PS. I was honoured to be asked by Amelia to guest post on Simple Provisions while she took some time off to have a baby too. Should I have been that organised? Yes I should have. Amelia’s blog is a fantastic resource with beautiful photos and simple, wholefood recipes. Check it out here.