A Happy Happy Boxing Day and a Simple Peach Salsa

by rubadubdublog

Aurelia 2013

Dario recently expressed his discontent with having to trawl through long winded food blogger ramblings before finally arriving at the recipe. I must admit, he has a point. I too am susceptible to a good natter prior to divulging a recipe and so I intend to change that one day. Maybe next post. Today I will indulge, as I feel it only fair to introduce our new baby! Life is very good – Aurelia arrived 40 minutes into Boxing Day and we are feeling very chuffed with ourselves. I am just as much in love with her as I was (and still am!) with Raff and I am constantly amazed at how a newborn human can already have made such an impression on me.

We have been blessed with lots of family visiting over the past few weeks – the house has been humming with loved ones hovering and at the ready to help – washing dishes, cooking food and occupying the toddler while Dario and I have spent our past week getting to know this tiny little thing (and at 2.7kgs I really mean tiny!). I can’t believe I’ve had time to even think about a post and it gives a good indication of how much having support makes a difference and just how lucky we are to have family that will do this for us. Have I mentioned that life is good?

Aurelia 1

Below is a salsa I made the day Dario’s family arrived (a few days before giving birth). I have been obsessed with fruit and herbs lately and I don’t think you can overdo either of them in this dish.

I hope you’ve all had a peaceful Christmas and New Year. This week I embark on a 90 day food and exercise overhaul (What’s that? Taking on too much post birth you say? Yup. Can’t help myself? Yup.) so stay tuned for updates!

Peach Salsa 2

Simple Peach Salsa

Inspired by Sprouted Kitchen’s Grape Salsa on Goat Cheese Crostini

2 peaches, diced

1 red capsicum, diced

1 small bunch of fresh coriander, roughly chopped

1 handful finely chopped chives

1/2 red onion

1 small chilli, deseeded and diced

salt to taste

1 tbsp sherry/red wine vinegar

Combine all ingredients in a medium sized bowl and serve immediately. Makes enough for a side dish for 4 people.

Peach Salsa 1

Peach Salsa 3

