Summer Ruby Salad from Pure Vegetarian and a Coast Trip

by rubadubdublog

Summer Ruby Salad 3

I’ve been wanting to post something from Pure Vegetarian for a long time. It is up there with a few of my favourite recipe books and this salad is just so …. beautiful! I’ve also fallen in love with Gayler’s attitude to cooking with vegetables –  he makes no excuses for arguing that vegetarian cuisine can be a main course and does so in a way that is so refreshingly inventive. Every recipe demonstrates his belief that vegetables are equally as good as meat as far as restaurant quality food is concerned and shouldn’t be relegated to the ‘sides’ or ‘vegetarian option’ category. The idea that meals can be complete without meat is something that I think Australians can sometimes struggle with and even when I first decided to eat a vegetarian diet it was something that I had difficulty coming to terms with. He also embraces seasonal and raw eating as things that can be characteristic of any diet and never compromises on taste or quality.

The opportunity arose when 1) watermelons came into season, 2) we took a much needed three-day trip to the coast (yes without Raff…and yes I cried as we left her…come on, give me a break it was for two whole nights. And what the hell am I going to be like when she goes to school??!) and 3) I finally had enough time to study/blog uninterrupted for longer than 20 minutes while simultaneously having a wonderful husband on tap to cook my meal. I was pretty much obligated to do it.

Summer Ruby Salad 2

Summer Ruby Salad 1

Summer Ruby Salad

Adapted from Paul Gayler’s Pure Vegetarian

Dressing

4 tbs red wine vinegar

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

1 tsp maple syrup

6 tablespoons olive oil

sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Salad

2 large cooked beetroots, peeled and cut into 1 cm dice

2 medium cooked golden beetroot (optional), peeled and cut into discs

1 red onion, thinly sliced

8 baby red radishes, thinly sliced

300gm watermelon, cut into 1 cm dice

100gm red cabbage, thinly sliced

20 fresh basil leaves

salt and freshly ground pepper

Whisk together the dressing ingredients in a bowl and season to taste. Set aside. Place all salad ingredients in a separate bowl, pour over the dressing and toss together. Serve immediately.

We added goats cheese to the salad and I highly recommend it. Gayler also recommends buffalo mozarella as a nice addition.

Summer Ruby Salad 5

Summer Ruby Salad 4

Congo Beach 1

Congo Beach 2

Congo Beach 3

