Raw Blood Orange, Sunflower Seed and Silverbeet Salad + a Two Year Old!

by rubadubdublog

Blood Oranges

Sometimes I get a very striking picture of how much things have changed for us now that we are a three person family. One day you’re whimsically browsing the shops trying on clothes and/or matching accessories and two years later, instead of carefree clothes shopping you’re walking into Bunnings to buy a mop (which strangely excites you) and deciding whether you should indulge yourself and pick up some new clothes pegs (you don’t). Not to mention the fact that just outside said Bunnings your two year old hit you in the face with a saliva-soaked bread roll and you didn’t blink an eye – yep things have changed in lots of ways.

For me, Friday nights are a regular reminder of how different our life is now we have a kid. In my head (of course it was never as glamorous as this) Friday nights usually involved a really good glass of red (what is wine again? I’ve forgotten…), catching up with friends or checking out a new restaurant. Now Friday nights are usually about cleaning out the fridge and shoving what leftover veges and perishables we have into some sort of (sometimes) edible concoction for dinner with the hope that we then have enough room in our 80 year old fridge to fit in next week’s food.

Sunflower Seeds

But. And it’s a really important ‘but’. Other things have changed too – I think for some reason my approach to what’s important in life has changed. Maybe it is age but I do think the whole gamut of things you experience by having children (both good and bad) have made me begin to look at the world differently. I appreciate different things now and I truly believe my life is better because of it. Take this salad for example. It was shaping up to be a typical Friday night meal – not bad by any stretch of the imagination but not mind-blowing. And yet, to my surprise it was really great! I’m still thinking about it actually. And it was so simple….maybe this salad is an analogy for what is so nice about life now with a kid. Fun, surprising and as easy or hard as you want to make it. I think having a family (and eating a salad) takes away all of the extra stuff (that we never needed anyway) and forces you to stop and appreciate the things you already have. And when you do get that glass of red eventually it tastes really really really good.

Blood Orange and Silverbeet Salad

Blood Orange and Silverbeet Salad 2

Blood Orange, Sunflower Seed and Silverbeet Salad

2 blood oranges, peeled and sliced thinly

2 tablespoons sunflower seeds or 2/3 cup walnuts, halved

1 cup rocket

2/3 cup fresh mint, roughly chopped

2-3 cups silverbeet, cored and roughly chopped

1 cup rocket

shaved parmesan or feta (I’ve had it with both and they are equally good options)

olive oil

balsamic vinegar

sea salt

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Liberally dress with the olive oil, salt and vinegar to your liking.

Strawberries 1

Ps.  This past week Raffaella turned two! What a little legend. We just adore this girl. We made this cake for her (I must confess I am a little ‘Aran obsessed’….meaning I can’t get enough of the recipes developed by the talented Aran Goyoaga, creator of Cannelle et Vanille).

Pps. I substituted agave and coconut sugar for the brown sugar and cane sugar. It was incredible. Check out the recipe here.

Cannelle et Vanille Birthday Cake

